Genesis

Distant thundershower. Taken at sunset on July 29, 2012 in Duck, NC… looking westward over the Currituck Sound.

The atmosphere puts on a show every day.  Sometimes, the show is more compelling than others.  It can lull you to sleep, or it can threaten your life.

Neil Peart, drummer for the rock band Rush, penned the line, All the world’s indeed a stage.  In the 21st Century, with social media exhibiting phenomenal growth, that is more true than ever.

When I joined facebook in 2008, I told a couple of my academic friends that it would be the world’s largest sociological experiment.  Then, I made the decision to hop aboard the twitter train (@SeanSublette13), and I watched that experiment accelerate further.

Life is a show. The digital footprints you leave will never be washed away.  Anything you say or post can and will be held against you in the Court of Public Opinion.

I was born at the very end of the 1960s, and even as an adolescent in the ’80s, I could not have imagined this information age that we inhabit today.  It will be very interesting to see where this train goes.  Strap in.  Enjoy the ride.

Cheers.

About seansublette

Meteorologist at Climate Central. Broadcast meteorologist in Virginia from 1995 to 2015. Born and raised in Richmond, VA. Penn State alumnus. Loves baseball and the rock band Rush. Views are independent of my employer. Past performance does not guarantee future results.
This entry was posted in Sociology. Bookmark the permalink.